ITIL® Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

Request a Quote for this class

About this Course

All Service Management frameworks emphasize the need for measurable continual improvement at every stage of the IT Service Lifecycle to ensure ongoing business alignment and service value. A formal CSI program helps the service provider look for ways to enhance and improve process efficiency and effectiveness.

Successful Service Management requires the skills, tools and techniques for identifying, prioritizing and implementing opportunities for ongoing improvement. Based on the Continual Service Improvement (CSI) publication within the ITIL® core library, this three (3) day course focuses on the strategies, concepts and techniques for creating and managing a metrics-driven CSI program to your Service Management initiative. The course culminates with the ITIL® Intermediate Continual Service Improvement certification examination.

Embedded into the CSI course is our unique virtualization, Living the Lifecycle®. Woven through all ITSM Academy's ITIL® Certification classes, this virtualization brings concepts and processes to life. Within a virtual business environment, as a group, we introduce a service and then follow it from strategic decision through implementation.

This virtualization successfully enables active learning by encouraging the participants to:

  • Discuss and understand pure ITIL® concepts
  • Apply concepts to a “neutral” real world situation
  • Learn different perspectives
  • Reinforce examinable concepts

Audience Profile

Anyone involved in the ongoing management of IT services including

  • CIOS, CTO and other Senior IT management
  • All Service Management process managers and process owners
  • Data analysts
  • Internal auditors
  • Any individuals requiring a detailed understanding of continual service improvement metrics, models and techniques
  • Business and IT consultants involved in the high level implementation of Service Management processes
  • Individuals seeking to achieve the ITIL® Expert™ or ITIL® Master qualification

At Course Completion

Upon successful completion learners will understand

  • CSI purpose, objectives and value
  • CSI principles
  • CSI process: Seven-step Improvement process
  • CSI methods and techniques
  • Organizing for CSI
  • Technology and implementation considerations
  • Challenges, critical success factors and risks


The ITIL® Foundation Certification in IT Service Management - obtained through ITIL® V3 Foundation or Foundation Bridge Course

Exam & Certification:

Successfully passing the 90 minute, exam consisting of eight (8) complex, multi-part, multiple choice scenario-based gradient scored questions leads to the ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Continual Service Improvement Certificate.

ITIL® Expert: Earn 3 credits of the 22 required to achieve the ITIL® ExpertCertification.

Project Management Institute (PMI) Professional Development Units (PDUs):  ITSM Academy is recognized by PMI as a Global R.E.P. You will earn22 contact hours or PDUs upon completion of this course.

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS limited.

IT Infrastructure Library® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS limited.

 All ITIL® courses are offered by Service Management Dynamix and ITSM Academy.

Course Outline

  • Introduction
  • Continual Service Improvement Principals
  • Continual Service Improvement Process (continued)
  • Continual Service Improvement Methods & Techniques
  • Organization for Continual Service Improvement
  • Technology for Consideration
  • Implementing Continual Service Improvement
  • Challenges, Critical Success Factors, & Risks
  • Exam Prep / Mock Exam
  • Exam