ITIL® Service Transition (ST)

Request a Quote for this class

About this Course

The difference between a successful and failed IT Service often lies in the quality of its transition from the development to the production environment. Based on the Service Transition publication of the ITIL® library, this Lifecycle course looks at the whole Service Transition stage at a management level. The Service Transition stage confirms that new or changed service are built, tested, accepted and deployed by leveraging Change, Release, Configuration and Knowledge Management. This course explores the high level goals, objectives, processes, common activities and technologies needed to successfully deploy a service into the live environment. The course culminates with the ITIL® Intermediate Service Transition certification examination.

Embedded into the three (3) day Service Transition course is our unique virtualization, Living the Lifecycle®. Woven through all ITSM Academy's ITIL® Certification classes, this series brings processes and concepts to life and identifies practical ways to overcome real-world challenges.  Living the Lifecycle® successfully enables active learning by encouraging participants to:

  • Discuss and understand pure ITIL® concepts
  • Apply concepts to a “neutral” real world situation
  • Learn different perspectives
  • Reinforce examinable concepts

Audience Profile

  • CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff, team leaders, designers, architects, planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers, IT security managers and ITSM trainers involved in the ongoing management, coordination and integration of transition activities within the service lifecycle
  • Individuals who require a detailed understanding of the ITIL® Service Transition stage and how it may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service provision within an organization
  • Individuals seeking to achieve the ITIL® Expert or ITIL® Master qualification

At Course Completion

Upon completing this course, students will be able to:

  • Service Transition purpose, objectives and value
  • Service Transition principles
  • Service Transition processes: Change, Service Asset and Configuration, Release and Deployment and Knowledge Management, along with Transition Planning and Support, Change Evaluation  and Service Validation and Testing
  • Managing people through service transitions
  • Organizing for Service Transition
  • Technology and implementation considerations
  • Challenges, critical success factors and risks


The ITIL® Foundation Certification in IT Service Management - obtained through ITIL® Foundation or Foundation Bridge.

Exam & Certification:

Successfully passing (70%) the 90 minute exam, consisting of eight (8) complex, multiple choice scenario-based questions, leads to the ITIL® Intermediate Qualification: Service Transition Certificate.

ITIL® Expert: Earn 3 credits of the 22 required to achieve the ITIL® ExpertCertification.

Project Management Institute (PMI) Professional Development Units (PDUs):  ITSM Academy is recognized by PMI as a Global R.E.P. Project Management Professionals earn 22 contact hours or PDUs upon completion of this course.


ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS limited.

IT Infrastructure Library® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS limited.

 All ITIL® courses are offered by Service Management Dynamix and ITSM Academy.

Course Outline

  • Introduction
  • Service Transition Principals
  • Service Transition Processes Part 1
  • Service Transition Processes Part 2
  • Service Transition Processes Part 3
  • Managing People through Service Transition
  • Organizing for Service Transition
  • Technology Considerations
  • Implementing and Improving Service Transition
  • Challenges, CSF's, & Risks
  • Exam Prep / Mock Exam
  • Exam